The Best of 2022

Eddie Datz
4 min readDec 29, 2022

(In my rarely-if-ever-humble opinion)

We’re back with everyone’s favorite series, “Eddie’s Best Of”!

I know, I know. You’ve been waiting since January 1st of this year to find out Eddie’s favorites of 2022. Really, the whole world has been waiting with bated breath. I’m so proud of you for pushing through and waiting until now!

Here’s the rundown for those of you new to this schtick:

Inspired by former President Barack Obama’s “Best Of” lists to commemorate the year, I decided to make my own!

Unlike the 44th leader of the free world, however, I don’t keep my lists focused on entertainment exclusively released in 2022. (If I did, well…it would be a really small list).

SO, instead, I keep track of every great piece of entertainment that I consumed specifically in the calendar year, regardless of when it came out. Really, this article should be titled “Best of…things Eddie specifically first watched/read in 2022”. Not as catchy though, right? And hey, what other “Best of 2022” list will you find that features Everybody Hates Chris??

Okay, enough ‘splaining. Let’s get on with the list!

Best Things Actually Released in 2022

Movies

Not Okay

Zoey Deutch and Mia Isaac, stars of “Not Okay”
Zoey Deutch and Mia Isaac, stars of “Not Okay”

This is one of the better films I’ve seen in a while. From guns to social media and everything in between, this film does a terrific job holding up a mirror to today’s society.

The Black Phone

Finney and Gwen Shaw, the main siblings in “The Black Phone”.
Finney and Gwen Shaw, the main siblings in “The Black Phone”.

What I loved most about this film was not its haunting simplicity; its terrific child actors; or its unique and fresh style. I loved that this film fit its production company perfectly. What the the heck does that mean? Blumhouse Productions prides itself on making the most out of the least, and that’s what this film was all about. I don’t think this film would’ve worked nearly as well with a different, more “blockbuster-y” production company. This was the perfect script for the perfect team, and they knocked it out of the park!

Documentaries

Untold: The Rise and Fall of And 1

Various And1 Sneakers
Various And1 Sneakers

This documentary opened up a corner of my childhood that I forgot existed! And1 was the biggest craze during my childhood, and this was a fascinating look into the behind the scenes that made it, well…rise and fall.

Harry Potter 20th Anniversary: Return to Hogwarts

The main cast of the “Harry Potter” franchise.
The main cast of the “Harry Potter” franchise.

Does this reunion really break any new ground? No. Is it certainly a pleasure to see our old (magical) friends once again? Always.

The Redeem Team

Some of the members of the titular “Redeem Team” USA Olympic basketball team.
Some of the members of the titular “Redeem Team” USA Olympic basketball team.

Like the Harry Potter reunion, this didn’t really show us anything we couldn’t have figured out on our own. But it was still fun to watch some of the greatest players of our generation and of NBA history all on one floor!

See, I told you the list was small! Now, on to the not-actually-released-in-2022-but-I-first-watched-or-read-them-in-2022 bests (in not too particular of an order):

Plays

  • Blithe Spirit (Noël Coward) (1941)
  • The Misanthrope (Molière) (1666)
  • The Physician in Spite of Himself (Molière) (1666)
  • Agnes of God (John Pielmeier)(1979)

Books

  • Intensity (Dean Koontz) (1995)

Television

  • Succession: S1 (2018), S3 (2021)
  • Maid (2021)
  • The IT Crowd: S2 (2007), S3 (2008), S4 (2010)
  • Harley Quinn: S1 (2019), S2 (2020)
  • Futurama: S5 (2008)
  • Fosse/Verdon (2019)
  • Everybody Hates Chris S1 (2005)
  • Modern Family S1 (2009)

Movies

  • About Time (2013)
  • Blithe Spirit (1945)
  • Predator (1987)
  • The Devil Wears Prada (2006)
  • The Wizard of Oz (1939)
  • Shiva Baby (2020)
  • School Ties (1992)
  • The Hangover Part III (2013)

Documentaries

  • Untold: Malice at the Palace (2021)
  • Last Chance U: Basketball (2021)
  • On Broadway (2019)
  • Fiddler: A Miracle of Miracles (2019)
  • D. Wade: Life Unexpected (2020)

Graphic Novels:

  • Batman White Knight (2017)
  • Criminal: Coward (2007)

And as a bonus, here are my previous “Best Of” Lists!

2021

https://medium.com/@datz-eddie/the-best-of-2021-45f85573cd42

What are you thoughts? What did I miss? What did I get just right? Let me know! And if you liked my Best of 2022, check out all my Best of All Time lists!

And for more things Datz, check out eddiedatz.com!

--

--

Eddie Datz

Actor. Comedian. Writer. Director. For all things Datz, check out eddiedatz.com